Home Page
Announcements
Significant Events
New Publications
About Us
Our Mission
Membership Benefits
Membership Application
Internet Resources
Contact Us

PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA

The Pennsylvania-Russia Business Council is privileged to bring you information regarding the Philadelphia Orchestra's 2000-2001 season.


Philadelphia Orchestra performs Stravinsky's "The Firebird" On March 13, 2001. Event Organized By The Philadelphia Orchestra Association and Supported By The PRBC. See the complete 2000-20001 season schedule for more information.


The miniature "Russian Music Festival" included in the regular season is comprised of the following programs:

"Rachmaninoff and Romantic Russia"
Friday, November 24 (Friday B) at 8 pm
Saturday, November 25 (Saturday 6A) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Krystian Zimerman, piano
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 3
MUSORGSKY/orch. Rimsky-Korsakov Prelude to Khovanshchina
BORODIN Symphony No. 2

"Temirkanov Brings Russian Masters"
Thursday, November 30 (Thursday B) at 8 pm
Friday, December 1 (Friday A) at 8 pm
Saturday, December 2 (Saturday 6B) at 8 pm
Tuesday, December 5 (Tuesday C) at 8 pm
Yuri Temirkanov, conductor
Horacio GutiŽrrez, piano
RACHMANINOFF Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad"

"The Great Rostropovich"
Thursday, December 7 (Thursday C) at 8 pm
Friday, December 8 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, December 9 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Mstislav Rostropovich, conductor
PROKOFIEV Excerpts from Romeo and Juliet
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10

Mark your calendars!

For more information and to learn about special group pricing, contact Val Kogan, PRBC President at (215) 708-2628, (215) 963-7079 or e-mail at prbc@worldnet.att.net

You will find Philadelphia Orchestra online at www.philorch.org

2000 - 2001 Season

Tuesday, September 19 (Opening Night) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Midori, violin
J. STRAUSS, JR. Overture to Die Fledermaus
SMETANA Vltava (The Moldau)
SIBELIUS Finlandia
TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto

Thursday, September 21 (Thursday A) at 8 pm
Friday, September 22 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, September 23 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Tuesday, September 26 (Tuesday A) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, piano
DVORAK Scherzo capriccioso
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1
ELGAR "Enigma" Variations

Thursday, September 28 (Thursday B) at 8 pm
Friday, September 29 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Tuesday, October 3 (Tuesday C) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Leonidas Kavakos, violin
SCHUBERT Symphony No. 3
MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto
MOZART Symphony No. 40

Thursday, October 5 (Thursday C) at 8 pm
Friday, October 6 (Friday B) at 8 pm
Saturday, October 7 (Saturday 6A) at 8 pm
Tuesday, October 10 (Carnegie Hall) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Hilary Hahn, violin
STRAVINSKY Symphony in C
THE PHILADELPHIA ORCHESTRA CENTENNIAL COMPOSITION COMPETITION WINNER
BRAHMS Violin Concerto

Friday, October 13 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, October 14 (Saturday 6B) at 8 pm
Daniel Harding, conductor
Olli Mustonen, piano
BERG Lyric Suite
GRIEG Piano Concerto
SCHUMANN Symphony No. 3, "Rhenish"

Tuesday, October 17
ADULT INTRODUCTORY CONCERT (1)
Roberto Kapilow, conductor

Thursday, October 19 (Thursday A) at 8 pm
Friday, October 20 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, October 21 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Tuesday, October 24 (Carnegie Hall) at 8 pm
Roberto Abbado, conductor
Kennedy, violin
WEBERN Variations for Orchestra*
BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No. 2

Thursday, October 26 (Thursday B) at 8 pm
Friday, October 27 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, October 28 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Neeme Järvi, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano
SCHMIDT Intermezzo, from Notre Dame*
SCHARWENKA Piano Concerto No. 4*
FRANCK Symphony in D minor

Tuesday, October 31
HALLOWEEN CONCERT

Thursday, November 2 (Tuesday C) at 8 pm
Friday, November 3 (Friday A) at 8 pm
Saturday, November 4 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Charles Dutoit, conductor
Chantal Juillet, violin
MOZART Overture to Don Giovanni
DANIELPOUR Violin Concerto (Centennial Commission)
BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique

Tuesday, November 14 (Carnegie Hall) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
DUKAS The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
MOZART Symphony No. 40
MUSORGSKY/orch. Ravel Pictures at an Exhibition

Thursday, November 16
100TH BIRTHDAY CONCERT
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
André Watts, piano
Sarah Chang, violin
Thomas Hampson, baritone
Program TBA

Friday, November 17 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, November 18 (Saturday 6B) at 8 pm
Tuesday, November 21 (Tuesday A) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
David Kim, violin
DUKAS The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
DVORAK Violin Concerto
MUSORGSKY/orch. Ravel Pictures at an Exhibition

Monday, November 20
TBA

Friday, November 24 (Friday B) at 8 pm
Saturday, November 25 (Saturday 6A) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Krystian Zimerman, piano
RACHMANINOFF Piano Concerto No. 3
MUSORGSKY/orch. Rimsky-Korsakov Prelude to KhovansHchina
BORODIN Symphony No. 2

Thursday, November 30 (Thursday B) at 8 pm
Friday, December 1 (Friday A) at 8 pm
Saturday, December 2 (Saturday 6B) at 8 pm
Tuesday, December 5 (Tuesday C) at 8 pm
Yuri Temirkanov, conductor
Horacio Gutiérrez, piano
RACHMANINOFF Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad"

Sunday, December 3 at 4 pm
Monday, December 4 at 7 pm
Luis Biava, conductor
Singing City Choir
Jeffrey Brillhart, Music Director
HANDEL Messiah

Thursday, December 7 (Thursday C) at 8 pm
Friday, December 8 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, December 9 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Mstislav Rostropovich, conductor
PROKOFIEV Excerpts from Romeo and Juliet
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10

Tuesday, December 12 (Tuesday A) at 8 pm
Thursday, December 14 (Thursday A) at 8 pm
Friday, December 15 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, December 16 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Luis Biava, conductor
Jubilant Sykes, baritone
The Choral Arts Society of Philadelphia
Donald Nally, Artistic Director
Holiday Program

Sunday, December 31 at ?
NEW YEAR’S EVE

Thursday, January 4 (Thursday C) at 8 pm
Friday, January 5 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, January 6 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Tuesday, January 9 (Carnegie Hall) at 8 pm
David Robertson, conductor
Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
DEBUSSY Images
FALLA Nights in the Gardens of Spain
RAVEL La Valse

Monday, January 8
ADULT INTRODUCTORY CONCERT (2)
David Robertson, conductor

Friday, January 12 (Friday A) at 8 pm
Saturday, January 13 (Saturday 6A) at 8 pm
Tuesday, January 16 (Tuesday C) at 8 pm
Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor
Roberto Díaz, viola
FALLA El amor brujo Suite
ROZSA Viola Concerto*
RESPIGHI The Fountains of Rome
RESPIGHI The Pines of Rome

Monday, January 15
MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR., TRIBUTE CONCERT

Friday, January 19 (Friday B) at 8 pm
Saturday, January 20 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Tuesday, January 23 (Tuesday A) at 8 pm
Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, conductor
Jaime Laredo, violin
MENDELSSOHN Excerpts from A Midsummer Night’s Dream
BRUCH Violin Concerto No. 1
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7

Thursday, January 25 (Thursday B) at 8 pm
Friday, January 26 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Samuel Caviezel, clarinet
HAYDN Symphony No. 94, "Surprise"
MOZART Clarinet Concerto
REGER Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Mozart

Tuesday, January 30
TBA

Thursday, February 1 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Friday, February 2 (Friday B) at 8 pm
Saturday, February 3 (Saturday 6B) at 8 pm
Monday, February 5 (Carnegie Hall) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Christine Brewer, soprano
Marjana Lipov_ek, mezzo-soprano
Robert Dean Smith, tenor
Alfred Reiter, bass
Westminster Symphonic Choir
Joseph Flummerfelt, Artistic Director
BEETHOVEN Missa Solemnis

Thursday, February 8 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Friday, February 9 (Friday A) at 8 pm
Saturday, February 10 (Saturday 6A) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Murray Perahia, piano
SIERRA Concerto for Orchestra (world premiere) (Centennial Commission)
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 25, K. 503
BRAHMS Symphony No. 4

Wednesday, February 14
VALENTINE’S DAY CONCERT

Thursday, February 22 (Thursday A) at 8 pm
Friday, February 23 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, February 24 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Tuesday, February 27 (Carnegie Hall) at 8 pm
Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor
Stephen Isserlis, cello
RAVEL Le Tombeau de Couperin
DUTILLEUX Tout un monde lointain …, for cello and orchestra
ROUSSEL Suite No. 2 from Bacchus and Ariadne
DEBUSSY La Mer

Thursday, March 1 (Thursday C) at 8 pm
Friday, March 2 (Friday B) at 8 pm
Saturday, March 3 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor
Emanuel Ax, piano
LISZT Ce qu’on entend dans la montagne, Symphonic Poem No. 1
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 2

Friday, March 9 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, March 10 (Saturday 6B) at 8 pm
Tuesday, March 13 (Tuesday C) at 8 pm
Robert Spano, conductor
Nexus, percussion ensemble
TAKEMITSU From Me Flows What You Call Time*
STRAVINSKY The Firebird (complete ballet)

Thursday, March 15 (Tuesday A) at 8 pm
Friday, March 16 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, March 17 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
András Schiff, conductor & piano
HAYDN Piano Concerto in D major
SCHUBERT Symphony No. 8, "Unfinished"
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5, "Emperor"

Thursday, March 22 (Thursday B) at 8 pm
Friday, March 23 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, March 24 (Saturday 6A) at 8 pm
Sir Andrew Davis, conductor
The Philadelphia Singers Chorale
David Hayes, Music Director
TIPPETT Symphony No. 4*
RAVEL Daphnis et Chloé (complete ballet)

Thursday, March 29 (Thursday A) at 8 pm
Friday, March 30 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, March 31 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
David Zinman, conductor
Arcadi Volodos, piano
BRAHMS Academic Festival Overture
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 2
DVORAK Symphony No. 5

Wednesday, April 11 (Washington DC) at 8 pm
Thursday, April 12 (Thursday C) at 8 pm
Friday, April 13 (Friday A) at 8 pm
Saturday, April 14 (Saturday 6A) at 8 pm
Bobby McFerrin, conductor
TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade for Strings
MCFERRIN Improvisations
BIZET Symphony in C

Thursday, April 19 (Thursday B) at 8 pm
Friday, April 20 (Friday B) at 8 pm
Saturday, April 21 (Saturday 6B) at 8 pm
Yakov Kreizberg, conductor
Angela Hewitt, piano
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 20
MAHLER Symphony No. 1

Tuesday, April 24
ADULT INTRODUCTORY CONCERT (3)
David Alan Miller, conductor

Thursday, April 26 (Thursday A) at 8 pm
Friday, April 27 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, April 28 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Tuesday, May 1 (Carnegie Hall) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
SMETANA Ma vlast (complete)

Thursday, May 3 (Tuesday C) at 8 pm
Friday, May 4 (Fri. Aft. B) at 2 pm
Saturday, May 5 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Renée Fleming, soprano
STRAUSS Four Last Songs
BRUCKNER Symphony No. 4, "Romantic"

Friday, May 11 (Fri. Aft. A) at 2 pm
Saturday, May 12 (Saturday 9A) at 8 pm
Tuesday, May 15 (Tuesday A) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Richard Woodhams, oboe
BRITTEN The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Concerto for Oboe and Strings
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

Thursday, May 17 (Thursday C) at 8 pm
Friday, May 18 (Friday A) at 8 pm
Saturday, May 19 (Saturday 9B) at 8 pm
Wolfgang Sawallisch, conductor
Frank Peter Zimmermann, violin
ELGAR Violin Concerto
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 3, "Eroica"



Back to PRBC Events Page

Cultivating Economic and Cultural Partnerships
between the U.S. Mid-Atlantic States and Russia